Awards honor Sheriff Rieger and Deputy Carrington

Photo by Alastair Baker


Carbon County Deputy Undersheriff Dan McJunkin presents Carbon County Sheriff Tom Rieger (right) with the Distinguished Career plaque. Rieger received award at the Montanan Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association May 29, in Bozeman.

The Carbon County Sheriff and a deputy received distinguished honors at the Montana Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association event in Bozeman, May 29.

Sheriff Tom Rieger was awarded the Distinguished Career plaque and Sheriff ’s Deputy Kelly Carrington received Peace Officer of the Year. Both said they are “Very proud and honored.”

Rieger has served 43 ½ years in law enforcement. He started with the Baker police force in 1971 and stayed until 1977. He was promoted to sergeant and in charge of narcotics investigations and involved with numerous drug arrests.

He went to the Montana Highway Patrol Academy in 1977, and was awarded the Detachment Officer of the year 8 times and Officer of the Year under the Montana Highway Patrol. He has also been awarded outstanding officer for two years in a row.

Rieger served as a Montanan Highway patrolman for another 26 ½ years until retiring to become undersheriff with Carbon County in 2003. He worked for 3 ½ under Sheriff Lance Bourquin and ran for Sheriff in 2006. In his time with the Carbon County Sheriff ’s Department he made many improvements; updating dispatch to a data base system which actively records all information to a server for reliable record documentation. Dispatch was totally remodeled and secured with detention style doors and locks with video monitoring of the entire building.

Rieger also applied for numerous grants for a fulltime 9th deputy, bulletproof vests, radars, and in-car video systems.

Sheriff ’s Deputy Carrington has been an EMT and in law enforcement for 10 years. He carries out all the computer works for record and dispatch system used, and rigs out the patrol cars with the latest technology. He works with regional SWAT teams in Billings and surrounding counties