COY Awards pack the house

On Friday, March 14, the Boys and Girls Club of Carbon County (BGCCC) held its Celebration of Youth (COY) awards for the year at the club in Red Lodge. Jody Ackerman, Executive Director of the BGCCC, seemed to echo the enthusiasm of the room when she graciously thanked the efforts of parents, teachers and other mentors that filled the rec room of the club. “We are delighted and honored to have you here,” she said. The Youth of the Year Award went to Grace Karas. There were many touching moments such as the Outstanding Teacher in the Community award for Mary Allen, “who has done so many things for Roberts School,” and served many positions from teacher to librarian to historian. Allen has long been a stalwart supporter of the community. For years, she has creatively encouraged students in diverse areas-broadening their scope in English class to include newspapers and reporting or honoring Montanans’ unique cultural heritages with songs and stories. 

It was a unique evening of honors, and entertainment. There was a flute solo by Makayla Dines; a reprise of their tenth place, state award-winning comedy routine by students Nathan Roller and Logan Mills and a heartwarming mother/son duo by Ackerman and her son, Yasha. Yasha also won the Outstanding Religious Service and Leadership award.

In the best attempt to show appreciation and awareness of the great contributions of many students in the area, the COY awards this year provided in addition to the Most Outstanding awards, many certificates acknowledging their achievements. As Ackerman noted there were so many students who needed to be noticed for their efforts. Nominations were from the community and the awards spanned a range of topics including volunteer efforts, kindness, character, scholastics, helping wildlife, supporting wilderness, civic duties, artistic talents and a combination of skills and dedication to the community.

Many attendees commented that the amount of talent in the area was impressive. Tucker Kane won the Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award and teacher Sabrina Pratt won the Outstanding Adult Volunteer to Youth award to great applause. Rick Hibbs was Outstanding Performing Artist and Kiyamini Hollow Horn Bear was Outstanding Youth Artist. Liam Gildehause received the Outstanding Youth Citizenship. Kryn Dykema was voted Youth Wilderness Enthusiast. Richard Peck, one of the award presenters, said the amount of time donated by the kids and quality of leadership demonstrated was indeed outstanding.

One local and long time supporter of the club seemed to echo the atmosphere of love and support that brought so many acknowledgements to local youth. “The children are outstanding,” said Jo Ann Eder. “Red Lodge is a great community!”

Upcoming Events

  • Saturday, February 24, 2018 - 10:00am
    An Overeaters Anonymous group will meet every Saturday at 10 a.m. at the Grace Fellowship Church, Absarokee.
  • Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 1:00pm
    Long, cold winter getting you down? Get out of the house and join the fun on Sunday afternoon for Bingo to help the homeless pets of Carbon County. Be there for Beartooth Humane Alliance Bingo, Sunday, Feb. 25, from 1 p.m. - 4 p.m., at the Red Lodge Elks Club.
  • Monday, February 26, 2018 - 7:00pm
    Joliet Group meets at the Community Center Monday at 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 7:00pm
    Now Group meets at the Bridger United Methodist Church, 222 W. Broadway (west entrance of church) Tuesday at 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 9:30am
    Open 2nd and 4th Wednesday 9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. and from 7 p.m. – 8 p.m. 206 N ‘D’ Street. More info 662-1060.
  • Thursday, March 1, 2018 - 7:00pm
    Meets every Thursday, 7 p.m. – 8 p.m. at the Red Lodge Area Community Foundation, 122 S. Hauser. It is open to all. 425- 1755.