Courtesy photos Xstremes:  Ashley Richardson, Eli Wilson, Jim Robertson, Dacey Robertson, Jeffrey Richardson, Mallory Simons,  Donny Robertson, Shane Berens, Jason Richardson.


Carbon County 4H Shooting Sports has been busy this spring practicing and competing in State Tournaments. The Carbon County 4-H BB Gun teams just returned from the Jaycees Montana State BB Gun Championships held in Laurel, April 20th and 21st. The X-stremes team placed 3rd overall and have qualified to shoot at the Daisy National BB Gun Championships in Rogers, Arkansas this summer. The team members are Donny Robertson, Dacey Robertson, Ashley Richardson, Mallory Simons, Jeffrey Richardson and Alternates Shane Berens and Eli Wilson. Mallory was our high shooter placing 5th Overall in the Team competition. They were coached by Jim Robertson and Jason Richardson.

The Hotshots team, coached by Scott Wilson and Karl Graham, took a respectable 10th place. Team members were Nic Reed, Colton Whitney, Jay Graham, Riley Simons, Bryce Elton, and Alternates Breanna Blain and Ava Graham. All shooters competed in 4 positions; Prone, Standing, Sitting and Kneeling, and took a 50 question test on firearm safety and competition rules. They would like to give a special thanks to the Friends of the NRA organization, who have provided much of our equipment through their national grant program. Their support is greatly appreciated. Another round of thanks needs to go out to all the parents and grandparents who give so much of their time and expertise volunteering in this program. We couldn’t do this without their support and participation.

And finally, a thank you to our communities who are kind enough to support our fundraisers. The Air Rifle and Smallbore shooters competed at the State 4-H Shooting Sports Tournament in February. Megan Sweeney qualified in Smallbore and will represent Montana at the National 4-H Shooting Sports Invitational in Grand Island, Nebraska this June. Ryan Sweeney also qualified for Nationals in Smallbore, but will be staying in Montana to shoot in a Cowboy Action Tournament. Other shooters participating at the State Tournament were Ben Reed and Mitch Milliken. Carbon County 4H members participating in Archery were Hailey Lebsack, Zach Wimer, Colton Whitney, Savannah Whitney and Ben Reed.