MDA announces appointments to Montana Hemp Advisory Committee

Thursday, March 21, 2019

 After receiving significant interest from producers and stakeholders throughout the state, Montana Department of Agriculture (MDA) Director Ben Thomas announced that nine individuals have been appointed to the Montana Hemp Advisory Committee.

The Committee will hold its first meeting April 3, from 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. in Room 225 at the Montana Department of Agriculture (302 N. Roberts, Helena). The first meeting will include an overview of Montana’s State Hemp Plan, commodity dealer licensing, and a discussion on how hemp laws are implemented in Montana. The meeting is open to the public.

 “We are grateful that so many folks were interested in serving on the Hemp Advisory Committee, and the selection process wasn’t easy,” said Director Thomas. “The appointees represent Montana hemp growers both large and small, and also reflect the diverse growing regions of Montana’s ag industry. I look forward to working with the committee to shape the future of Montana’s hemp industry.”

 Nine individuals were appointed to the Committee, all for terms of one year.

Those individuals are: Jeremy Anderson – Fort Benton; Jackee Beck – Deer Lodge; Ken Elliott – Wolf Point; Jamie Fitterer – Bozeman; Arlin Fratzke – Stevensville; Bart Icopini – Hysham,; Ross Johnson – Conrad; Dean Nelson – Homestead; Kim Phillips – Helena.

The Montana Department of Agriculture’s mission is to protect producers and consumers, and to enhance and develop agriculture and allied industries.  For more information on the Montana Department of Agriculture, visit


The Carbon County News

Street Address:

11 N. Broadway, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 970, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Phone: 406-446-2222

Fax: 406-446-2225

Toll-Free: 800-735-8843

Open: Monday-Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.