Montana Fish and Wildlife commission to meet Aug. 9

Thursday, August 2, 2018

The Montana Fish and Wildlife Commission will meet Thursday, Aug. 9, at FWP Headquarters in Helena.

The agenda includes final decisions on the 2018/2019 furbearer and trapping seasons and 2018 quotas, Reservoir Creek beaver transplant, and Future Fisheries Improvement Program summer 2018 projects.

The Commission meeting starts at 8:30 a.m. and will be streamed live via video to all FWP regional offices. The meeting will also be audio streamed online at

The Commission will make final decisions on the following topics:

• Memorandum of understanding between FWP and USDI-Bureau of Reclamation - Freezout Lake WMA

• Nevada Lake WMA forest habitat enhancement project

• HD 214 elk B license adjustment

• Nongame check-off workplan

• Permanent access assignment to FWP for Dry Cottonwood Creek and Deer Lodge River Ranches, in Region 2

• Stevensville Bridge Fishing Access Site acquisition and development

• Big Creek instream flow water rights lease agreement

The Commission will hear the following proposals:

• Brucellosis proposed 2019 annual work plan

• New administrative rule for grizzly bear demographic objectives for the Northern Continental Divide Ecosystem

• Robb-Ledford WMA aspen enhancement project

• Missouri River and Toston Fishing Access Site closure rule

The Commission will also look at endorsing the following:

• W-Bar conservation easement

• East Rosebud Fishing Access Site

• Dailey Lake Fishing Access Site easement

• Blue Ridge Ranch public elk hunt management agreement

FWP ensures its meetings are fully accessible to those with special needs. To request arrangements, call FWP at 406-444-3186.

For the full agenda and background on the scheduled topics, go to the FWP website at “Quick Links” Commission.”

FWP's website offers live streamed audio of each F&W commission meeting. The public can also view a live television feed of the meeting at FWP regional offices. FWP Headquarters is located at 1420 E. 6th Avenue, Helena.


Upcoming Events

  • Monday, September 23, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Joliet Group meets at the Community Center Monday at 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Now Group meets at the Bridger United Methodist Church, 222 W. Broadway (west entrance of church) Tuesday at 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Meets every Thursday, 7 p.m. – 8 p.m. at the Red Lodge Area Community Foundation, 122 S. Hauser. It is open to all. 425- 1755.
  • Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Clarks Fork Group meets at St. Joseph’s Catholic Hall, north end of Montana Avenue, Thursday at 7 p.m.
  • Friday, September 27, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Rock Creek Group meets Tuesdays and Saturdays at 8 a.m. and Wednesdays and Fridays at 7 p.m. at Calvary Church, 9 N Villard, Red Lodge.
  • Monday, September 30, 2019 - 7:00pm
    Joliet Group meets at the Community Center Monday at 7 p.m.

The Carbon County News

Street Address:

11 N. Broadway, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 970, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Phone: 406-446-2222

Fax: 406-446-2225

Toll-Free: 800-735-8843

Open: Monday-Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.