Stage I fire restrictions in Yellowstone and Stillwater Counties

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Stage 1 fire restrictions went into effect for the following counties. Treasure and Stillwater Counties, at 12:01 a.m. Friday, Aug. 17, and Musselshell County, at 12:01 a.m. Aug. 20. Yellowstone County remains in a Stage 1 fire restrictions.

In cooperation with the counties, all Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks, and Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) lands within these counties will also be placed in Stage I restrictions.

Under Stage I, campfires are prohibited except within developed recreation sites, fire rings or improved sites. Smoking is limited to enclosed vehicles or buildings, developed recreation sites or an area at least three feet in diameter that is cleared of flammable materials.

Fireworks are prohibited on state and federal lands all year. Exploding targets available for sale to recreational shooters are also considered a pyrotechnic product and are prohibited year round.  

Any individual who causes a wildland fire intentionally or through negligence will be held accountable for damage and suppression costs.

For additional information on fire restrictions, visit the fire restrictions website at


The Carbon County News

Street Address:

11 N. Broadway, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 970, Red Lodge, MT 59068

Phone: 406-446-2222

Fax: 406-446-2225

Toll-Free: 800-735-8843

Open: Monday-Friday, from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.